MXToolbox - Exchange Transaction Times - ORF Forums

MXToolbox - Exchange Transaction Times RSS Back to forum

Hello All,

I have been using ORF for several years and recently we moved our email server from a physical host to virtual (ESX 4.1) since then we have been having issues with random emails being rejected etc.

I looked into it and as per www.mxtoolbox.com we are getting transaction times in access of 32 seconds. I turned off things on the firewall and other areas but it all remained the same, until I turned off ORF and ran the test again. My transaction times dropped from 32+ seconds to mere .45 or less.

We are running all the tests except DNS Whitelist, DHA and Honeypot. Can anybody explain why the performance is being degraded in excess of 30 seconds for each transaction?

Thanks

by Mandeep Khalsa more than 10 years ago

@Mandeep Khalsa: Without more information, it is hard to tell if this indicates a problem with ORF configuration or not. Here are a few things to consider.

ORF filters emails real-time, during the SMTP transmission. Emails are held up while ORF performs its tests, which increases the transaction time. Based on what you described, it is indeed ORF testing that takes about half a minute.

32 seconds _average_ for testing sounds a little too much. This is almost always due to time consuming operations, which are Tarpit, DNS lookups and database operations in ORF.

* Tarpit Delay: If Tarpit Delay is enabled, ORF will hold blacklisted up emails for the configured time period. This is the very point of Tarpit Delay. Check if this test is enabled and if it is, turn it off and see how that affects the transaction time.